He Wanted Me To Keep Quiet About His Behaviour

He Wanted Me To Keep Quiet About His Behaviour

*Steve said that I had “saved” him. But it wasn’t too long before he realised I could see his web of lies were unravelling, so started threatening to kill himself because I wanted to leave him. When we were apart – him working in the US; me working in the UK – he’d go hours, sometimes a day or so, before sending me a message to let me know he was still alive. During this time, with no communication, I’d be frantic because I really thought he was going to commit suicide. I’d call countless times, but he wouldn’t answer his cell/mobile. This would become a regular occurrence.

It got so bad, I’d just not bother trying to call him any more. He accused me of not caring and frequently said I’d have to fight for him and/or the relationship. I remember asking him why I should as I wasn’t the one causing the majority of the arguments. When I was at fault, I would admit I was wrong and apologise. His response was so he could feel loved, respected and appreciated. What???? I’d shown him nothing but love, respect and appreciation! It just wasn’t happening the other way round!

I have to stress at this point, he thrives on drama. He did then and he still does now. When I didn’t want to participate, he would get really mad, telling me that I did not love him and that I was unsupportive. It was extremely draining. But after each threat of killing himself, he would eventually apologise, explaining that it was the stress of being in the army and constantly say that he was suffering from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). But he wasn’t then, and he isn’t now. Steve did serve in Iraq for a year, but he wasn’t in combat; he shifted ammo from one spot to the next. That was it. (His army career will be detailed in another post. You will see why I’ve come to my conclusion). He was apparently a better person when I was around him. He missed me so much it hurt so I have to forgive him. He’s never loved so deep before…

Steve tried to lay down rules I definitely wasn’t happy with. This is where the control factor really started to show and take it’s toll. He accused me of being the controlling one, and went on to tell who would listen this untruths. When we married by proxy, he wanted me to change my surname to that of his, but I didn’t want to. So what did he do? He told the company to change my surname! So I wear his name on the marriage certificate. However, when we went to open joint accounts together (so when he got his pay checks in, I would ensure his bills were paid in a timely manner and to help him rebuild his ruined credit), I told the clerk I wanted to use my birth name. Steve insisted I used his. The clerk could see how uncomfortable I was, so she told him she could only go by the name on my I.D.’s. What a relief. My British passport and driver’s licence were (and still are) in my birth name. Problem solved!

He wanted me to send an email to *Dawn, his daughter’s mother after our disastrous trip to Montana. When I refused, he created an email account using his surname – persia**********@yahoo.com (I’ve chosen not to reveal his surname for the sake of my son and his family). After doing so, he told me again to send an email from the address I’ve been using for years, dictating what he wanted me to say. Failure to do so would result in him sending one from the account he’d created. The worst part about that? He wouldn’t tell me the password, so he was the only one with access to the account. This meant he could say whatever he wanted to. For those who did not know me well, would be none the wiser, so would assume that I had indeed, sent the email(s). I continued to refuse his demand. Whether or not he sent and email from that address is anyone’s guess. He did give me access to the account several days later. I couldn’t see that he’d sent any messages, however, there is the possibility he did and deleted the evidence.

What was it with him? Why was he was so determined for me to bare his surname? It was really getting out of hand. He’d even had me listed with the army as his spouse with the wrong surname. That was, until I corrected it with my legal documents.

Steve didn’t want me to talk to anyone about what was going on, because it was “our business, not anyone else’s”. He went ballistic if he even had an inkling that I’d talked to someone about us, and often accused me of having done so when I hadn’t.

(*Not his real name)

21 thoughts on “He Wanted Me To Keep Quiet About His Behaviour

  1. His being in the service was a backup scapegoat. In situations where he couldn’t manipulate the situation to look as though you were at fault or contributed to it, he could use his time spent in service as a fall-back. Kevin’s unemployment was his scapegoat when I couldn’t be a believable culprit. This is one reason he preferred to be unemployed. So stressful for him being in a new place, worrying about me being the only one working, can’t find a job, has child support he can’t (because he manipulates things) pay, etc., etc… Which eventually I still became the scapegoat for everything, because his unemployment befell him because he moved here to be with me…. LOL

    And Teela’s right. Totally waiting for you to hand over all rights to your life, signed sealed delivered… so then he could talk about you being his property. If he has papers in his mind he can do whatever he wants. Yep. AKA he thought he was trapping you.

    Like

    • The abusers way of thinking just seems like to much hard work! As for the scapegoat part – indeed. I found out after I ended our relationship that things he was blaming his PTSD for, were happening even before he joined the army!
      Trap me did, but he underestimated my strength. I’m just grateful I didn’t change my name!

      Like

  2. Even if you do sign over your life, the abuse continues, like everything else it is not enough. I shake my head when I read this, how many times has this story, with variations here and there played out around the world as if they were following a script. I am glad you are free, and I glad I found your inspirational story.

    Like

    • Although I didn’t realise it at the time, I just didn’t want to do what he wanted me to. I wanted my own identity because it was and still is my right to choose what I want to do!
      Thank you. It feels great to be free.

      Like

  3. It is good that the relationship is over, both for you and your son. This seam of abuse in military families is a fact that my commander and myself worked hard to stop, most of the time the damage had been done before we were made aware of the abuse. Divorce, counseling, and jail time do very little to heal the scars, but it does help in stopping (?) the abuse.

    Like

    • I guess I was to nice or to scared, perhaps both to even say anything. It got progressively worse once December 4th had come and gone – he was no longer linked to the army, so the abuse worsened. He knew I could report him to the army. He kept telling me things would get better once he left, and I really hoped it did. It didn’t. I had to walk away. He would have killed me. I will explain all in another post.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Abusing Me Whilst Pregnant, He Started To Call Me Ugly | You Don't Have To Suffer In Silence

  5. Pingback: Early Eight Warning Signs « You Don't Have To Suffer In Silence

  6. Pingback: The Disappearing Act « Blog Of A Mad Black Woman

  7. Pingback: Emotional Blackmail: Suicide Threats In Abusive Relationships « Blog Of A Mad Black Woman

  8. Pingback: Twenty Traits Of Malignant Narcissism ~ Seven « Blog Of A Mad Black Woman

  9. Pingback: Twenty Traits Of Malignant Narcissism ~ Fourteen « Blog Of A Mad Black Woman

  10. Pingback: Twenty Traits Of Malignant Narcissism ~ Fifteen « Blog Of A Mad Black Woman

  11. Pingback: I Want The World To Know What An Amazing Woman You Are « Blog Of A Mad Black Woman

  12. Pingback: He Wanted Me To Keep Quiet About His Behaviour « Blog Of A Mad Black Woman

  13. Pingback: It Puts The Lotion On It’s Skin « Blog Of A Mad Black Woman

Please feel free to leave a comment